An Astonishingly Heartfelt Piece on the Quaternary Anniversary of This Here Blog

Hi All! It’s Sid and Wags here! We know the blog has been quiet for a while with all the craziness that is 2020, graduation, and life in general. Today, however, is Almost4AM’s fourth birthday, and we want to celebrate!

And we definitely didn’t remember our anniversary the night before and then write this post day-of. No, that would be entirely unprofessional (and entirely accurate).

We’re really getting so old, Wags. Almost 4 AM is certainly worth celebrating, but I really get excited about the weirdest things nowadays. Grocery shopping, cancelled plans, coupons. Weird. Feels like just yesterday I was Two Braids and a Bike.

And I was in my first college class experiencing the dreaded Freshman Phenomenon. Starting college was an experience, but at least I had this blog to capture all the unnecessary angst and anxiety as I tried to figure myself out. 

Wanna talk about self-discovery? Let’s talk about how I wrestled with whether or not I was the “Funny Girl”. Like geeze, it’s one thing to have an angsty diary, but to make it on a public blog. Yikes. But then again, who am I kidding? Two people read it, at most. 

Yeah, some of my posts are cringeworthy. I try to forget about my revolutionary exposé about The Need to Write. The deep force that drives every author. Because we all know that a freshman in college who’s taken precisely 3 credits of English coursework has all of the answers. And that’s not all. I’ve written six separate pieces about writing. And we’ve only been at this for four years. Someone, please take my computer away before I do it again.

At least you didn’t write an entire heartfelt piece about how you’re a bleeding heart journalist. “Expectations Versus Reality.” A pretty ironic title, all things considered. I didn’t even make it to a second semester in journalism. I think I win in the cringe department. 

For audience clarity, this was supposed to be a highlight reel of our favorite pieces, but it’s quickly turned into a roast. And I, for one, am in. In On Seeing Sunrises, I fancied myself an enlightened photographer after one (1) early morning walk and one (1) photography class. And no, I’ve never gotten up that early again. Don’t even get me started on my pretentious phase as Patient X, the leader of the next great YA dystopia. 

Oh, you’re on. It’s one thing to talk about your feelings. Another thing to talk about your college angst. But no, that wasn’t enough for me. In The Story of My Life (Cont.), I literally discussed my lactose issues. Yeah. The blog probably knows more about my “regularities” than my doctor. Smh.

Okay…yeah. I don’t know if I can top that. Though I’m sure our two readers would have plenty of examples were they to dig back in the archives. Maybe this post wasn’t such a good idea after all?

Yeah. Self-deprecating humor is what we do best, isn’t it? Maybe we’ll have to redeem ourselves next time.

It is our 100th post after all. And everyone knows we only post at milestones anyway. We have, what, six pieces between this one and the last anniversary.

Why’d you have to expose us like that? Well, I think we better sign off before we lose our remaining 2 readers, assuming we haven’t lost them already.

To anyone who’s made it this far, thanks for four years!

 

Love, Sid & Wags

She means Wags and Sid

Still need to work on that…

A Very Serious Anniversary Photo
A Very Serious Anniversary Photo

Leave a comment