A Cappella Boot Camp

My life has turned into one of the rejected story lines from the hit movie Pitch Perfect. Well, with a few tweaks. I wandered around the involvement fair and stumbled upon the best a cappella group. Unlike Pitch Perfect, they didn’t have to track me down to get me to join. After I heard the name of the group I was all in. Sound of Science is infinitely better than the Bellas. I mean where’s the music pun? At our first meeting of the year the group announced that we would be auditioning for the International Championship of Collegiate A Cappella (ICCA), the competition in Pitch Perfect. We even had an “A Cappella Boot Camp” of sorts to prepare for the competition.

One of the songs we worked on during boot camp is “Strangers Like Me” by Phil Collins, from the movie Tarzan. It was the song we performed for callbacks. It was the first song we learned as a group. It gets stuck in my head all of the time. It’s been kind of my anthem.

I can see you’re confused. What does a song from Tarzan have anything to do with my first year of college? Well, I’ll tell you. There’s a line in the song that says, “I wanna know. Can you show me? I wanna know; are there strangers like me?” That’s what I was wondering when I wandered overwhelmed through the involvement fair. I wanted to find the strangers that were like me. I saw the Sound of Science booth and knew. Those were strangers like me. Now every Sunday and Friday I get to spend time with people that get me. Sure we’ve only known each other for a month, but there’s something familiar. I’ve found them. Strangers like me. Strangers who are willing to put aside five hours on a Saturday for the sake of a cappella boot camp. For the sake of something we love. I’m more than willing to stick around with these “strangers” for quite a while.

-Wagner

One thought on “A Cappella Boot Camp

Leave a Reply

